Art + Culture

Audience Development

How cultural institutions can win, engage and diversify audiences

Audience research in Germany shows that nowadays, only very few people participate in publicly financed art and culture. However, no matter if financed publicly or privately, art and culture need an audience, today and in the future. A great challenge of cultural institutions.

But what to do if the traditional audience gradually ages, while younger audiences fail to thrive? How to attract people from other social segments, countries or cultures that haven’t engaged in an institution’s programme so far? What to do in order to reach a larger audience, regionally, nationally or even internationally? How can the audience be placed at the centre of a cultural institution’s activity, enabling a user experience that makes the audience happy and loyal, in a highly competitive market? How to provide for more relevance and legitimation of a cultural institution in society, and thus to make it better prepared for the future?

Having constantly increased importance over the years, Audience Development is a strategic management task in cultural institutions to make audiences happy and loyal, and cultural institutions more competitive and resilient.

I provide leaders of cultural institutions with strategic consulting in non-digital and digital marketing and communications to develop new and engage existing audiences. I contribute my vast international work experience including highly the competitive sectors of manufacturing and trade.

Contact me for further information and a free-of-charge consultation, learn more in my audience development interview (German only) or read my Dossier Audience Development und Diversität” (PDF, German only), written for Zukunftsakademie NRW.

The services I offer:

  • Audience research (market research design, analysis of results)
  • Strategy development (vision, mission and purpose definition, target group segmentation, programme creation and prototyping, planning)
  • Creation of marketing and communications programmes to develop and engage audiences by creating engaging visitor experience
  • Internal process guidance (facilitation, inhouse-consulting, auditing)
  • Interim management (internal project lead)
  • External project lead
  • Leadership and team coaching
  • Evaluation and controlling

Image: Bayerische Schlösserverwaltung

Kunst + Kultur

Audience Development

Wie Kultur mehr unterschiedliche Menschen erreichen kann

Besucherstudien belegen, dass heute nur die wenigsten Menschen in Deutschland an öffentlich geförderter Kunst und Kultur teilhaben. Doch ganz gleich ob öffentlich geförderte Kultur oder Freie Szene – Kunst und Kultur braucht Publikum, heute und in Zukunft.

Doch was tun, wenn das gewohnte Publikum immer älter wird und der Nachwuchs abhanden geht? Wie Menschen aus anderen Milieus, Ländern und Kulturen ansprechen, die bisher gar nicht erst ins Haus gefunden haben? Was kann man tun, um eine größere Öffentlichkeit zu erreichen, regional bis international? Auf welche Weise lässt sich das Publikum konsequent in den Mittelpunkt des eigenen Kulturbetriebs stellen und so für eine „Visitor Experience“ zu sorgen, die das Publikum glücklich und zufrieden macht, in einem Überangebot? Wie kann man für mehr gesellschaftliche Relevanz und Legitimität einer Kultureinrichtung sorgen und damit ihre Zukunft sichern?

Audience Development ist eine strategische Führungsaufgabe in Kulturbetrieben, die zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnt, weil sie neues Publikum gewinnt, bindet und Kulturinstitutionen wettbewerbs- und zukunftsfähig macht.

Ich berate Führungskräfte in Kulturinstitutionen bei der Entwicklung von klassischen und digitalen Marketing- und Kommunikationsstrategien zur Gewinnung und Bindung von Besucherinnen und Besuchern. Dabei nutze ich auch meine umfangreichen internationalen Erfahrungen aus dem wettbewerbsintensiven Umfelds der Wirtschaft und Industrie.

Kontaktieren Sie mich für weitere Informationen und einen unverbindlichen Beratungstermin, erfahren Sie mehr in meinem Audience Development-Interview oder lesen Sie mein Dossier Audience Development und Diversität“ (PDF), das ich für die Zukunftsakademie NRW geschrieben habe.

Meine Leistungen:

  • Hausabhängige Besucherforschung (zum Beispiel Konzeption und Auswertung von Besucher- und Nichtbesucher-Umfragen, Fokusgruppen-Tests, ihre Auswertung und Formulierung von Handlungsempfehlungen)
  • Strategieentwicklung (Definition von Zielen, Segmentierung von Zielgruppen, Konzeption von Prototypen und Maßnahmen, Zeitplanung, Budgetierung)
  • Konzeption von konkreten klassischen und digitalen Marketing- und Kommunikationsmaßnahmen für zielgruppengerechte „Visitor Experience“
  • Interne Prozessbegleitung (Beratung, Befragungen, Workshops etc. als Inhouse-Consultant)
  • Interims-Management (interne Projektleitung)
  • Projektleitung (extern)
  • Führungskräfte- und Mitarbeiter-Coaching
  • Evaluation (Testauswertung, Ergebniskontrolle)

 

Foto: Bayerische Schlösserverwaltung